NYC – a bite of the Big Apple

New York, New York.

Lets start with MOMA. Even though it was crowded (Free entries on Fridays after 4pm), it didn’t seem that way because the place was so huge! There were many great mediums of art for your viewing pleasure such as photography, film, objects, furniture. I could spend the entire day there (or as much as my feet could take standing).

The flat iron building has a story… Taking a train down from Greenwich Village just to take a picture of it, I came out of the train stop trying to find it. It puzzled me how I was standing at the right spot (from the map) but I couldn’t find what I saw in postcards. Reluctantly, I walked a block away from the building to realize that I was walking around it all along -.-“.

Central park has got to be my favorite place. I thought an hour’s bike rental ($10) would be sufficient to ride through enough of it to get a sense of where some movie scenes were filmed. Pssh so wrong. Not following a map, i.e. just following wherever the road took me.. from a scene of Enchanted, to Maid in Manhattan, to Friends with Benefits, to the Avengers..  it was most thrilling to recognize scene after scene. Oh people watching.. I’d have to add that to my list of past times. Often when traveling, it’s rather natural to find more obvious collective stereotypes with people. However, in NY, every individual already carries something unique about them. An idealist hope, a cause, a something something… It’s because people in New York are so passionate, that others would flock there to perhaps also find their calling.

On my way to find Grand Central Station, I stumbled into the New York Public Library (Thanks to a ‘terrific’ sense of direction). Have you come across a library that makes you want to study? Yeah? Then you’ll know what kind I’m talking about here. Not sure if it’s the high ceilings or the lighting or maybe just the architecture in general that encompasses that sense of knowledge retention. Pity I didn’t have time to grab a Britannica.

Just taking a bite of the apple to share with you. One of the must go cities in the States!